Amazing California Adventure, Intro

So I just got back yesterday from 10 days in California. So much in so little time. First I will give a summary of everything, then tomorrow I hope to highlight the best stuff with pictures.

I landed at LAX on the 14th around 10 pm. When my friend and roommate for life Chelsea picked me up, we went to an incredible doughnut shop that makes the best doughnuts I have ever tasted. The next day, Thursday,  our friend Gus arrived and we spent the day at the San Diego Zoo, which wasgreat and I got loads of pictures of different animals. Friday Chelsea worked at her internship at the Wild Animal Park, so Gus and I went and walked around while she worked her shift. We fed lorikeets, took a tram around “Africa”, and saw all sorts of awesome things. Saturday we went to Disneyland, which was SO FUN. I had never been there before, and aside from being re-reminded that I cannot go on any rollercoaster ever because they scare and disorient me, the rides I went on were fun and everything was exciting. Sunday we went through LA photographing various BuffyVerse locations. Monday we dropped off Gus in San Diego, while Chelsea and I went to the beach at Coronado island. Tuesday, I went to the library while Chelsea worked, then Wednesday I went to the Wild Animal Park again and went around by myself while she worked again. Thursday…Thursday was the best day EVER.

I went on a photo caravan at the WAP for FREE, fed rhinos and giraffes, then we managed to get into COMIC CON and I met THE GUILD as well as some of my favourite ebcomic artists- Chris Daily from Punch n Pie, Sarah Ellerton from Inverloch, Phoenix Requiem, and Dreamless, Dreamless’s writer Bobby Crosby, Brian Foulke of Flipside, Randy Milholland of Something Positive, and Jeph Jacques of Questionable Content. I felt like a little kid, because I’ve been reading several of these artists’ work since mid-high school, and they really helped form who I am and my interests.

THEN we went to W00tstock, which was everything it could have been and more., topped off by MEETING WIL WHEATON. I have been reading his blog since 2004, before he broke his website and before his career really took off again with his writing, acting, and geeking, and it was great to be able to tell him, “I’ve been reading your blog sicne before you broke your website.” His response? “Wow…that’s a long time. Thanks!” He had also readhis story of the first time he saw Rocky Horror, so I told him I’d acted in it last year as a dancer, to which he said, “Wow. That’s rad, really rad.” He was cool but still a geek, like all the famous people I met, which made me love them all even more. I also got my picture with him, which I will post later. So wonderful.

Now I’m getting ready for the Next Adventure, Slovakia. More details about my amazing trip to come tomorrow.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

