Vestigial

Okay, I confess. Some of the things I was going to do this week did not happen. However, I want to focus on the positives.

1. If you haven’t checked, I have indeed been updating my short story blog, 365 Histories, running at about 1/2 to 1 day behind schedule admittedly, but posting nonetheless. Already I feel like the writing has gotten easier the more days I do it- maybe not better (I’ll be asking about that later on), but easier.

2. I did mostly figure out the paperwork dealing with my student loans, and that will also hopefully be sorted out in some fashion very soon. I blame fate/my servicers for the fact that none of my requests for deferment were accepted, despite the fact that my colleague’s all were. However, I am not bitter, at least not much, because this means that I will have to work harder and thus get my loans done with and out of my life earlier. Which, let’s face it, very little in my life has come under the heading of  “easy”, and I think I’m doing pretty well, all things considered, so  I’m willing to see where this goes.

3. I did finish a vest. I will hopefully post pictures of it tomorrow, when I wear it for the first time. So far not only does it look like it was supposed to, it fits! I love when that happens (it’s not as often as some people might think).

Speaking of vests, as I plan my knitting for 2011 I am realizing that I am just fascinated with them. And why not? They add some colour without covering up the thing beneath them, they add warmth, and some of them can even be extremely flattering if they turn out right. I have loved vests for a long time, but the past year or so I realized that they were something that could actually be knit pretty easily, and I made several.

What? You’ve never seen any? Oh, right, because I never managed to post a. single. finished. object. in 2010. So, for the new year, in addition to my trip from Italy, I plan to post later this month:

A. The finished objects I completed in 2010, including 2 vests and a short-sleeved sweater.

B. The things I hope to complete, at least some of them, so that you all have permission to gripe and complain and pester if they don’t end up getting done. Don’t let me down when I actually request that I be harrassed.

So, to begin part B at least, here are 5 vests that I would really love to finish this year:

1.

This is the Textured Vest from Knit.1 Fall/Winter 2008. It will hopefully even be my next project.

Inamorata, from Knitty Spring/Summer 2010. While made to wear by itself, I am counting it as a vest owing to its lack of sleeves…not to mention that Brits call these sorts of tops “vest tops” anyway. So…there? Anyway, I like it.

 

 

 

Talia, from Knitty Spring/Summer 2008. It looks both warm andgood for my shape, and I already figured out a mod to make it more slimming.

The Cable Paneled Vest from Vogue Knitting Early Fall 2010. I love the shape and the cables; if I don’t do this pattern, I will probably attempt something similar this year.

Milly, from Knitty First Fall 2010. You can’t see in this picture, but the front and back are very different textures, and I love the nipped-in shape and “menswear” feel.

 

 

 

 

 

There are other patterns, but these are 5 I either already own or don’t have to pay to use (Thank you, Knitty, for allowing cheap knitters like myself access to better patterns than we can afford). If I finish all of them, let alone make even more vests for my wardrobe, it will be a good year, both for knitting and for vests.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

