Looking Forward, Not Back

So I’m not going to waste much time on “Oh I can’t blog well” anymore. I lost my drive this past calendar year and it will, hopefully, clear itself up from now on. I still can’t make any promises, however I do have stronger intentions, as this year I feel more urgency that in the past to do these things.

On that note, I don’t have resolutions, but I do have goals, many of them, for 2012. Attainable, but not without work. Ambitious, but doable. So that I can look back next year and be able to say that these were my goals and this is what I achieved, this is what I didn’t, this is what I change for the future. So.

2012 Goals

Read 52 Books

While I know a lot of people have been doing the whole “Read 100 a year” thing, with my current work situations I really think 1 a week is a stretch enough. Who knows, if I achieve it early, I’ll keep reading and increase my goal total, most likely.

Knit 12 Sweaters and 24 Finished Objects

I knitted a lot this year, but I want to set real goals so I don’t just knit a bunch of silly hats or something. Also, I intend to photograph more things and put them on this here blog thing. In fact, my first FO of the year is already done- hopefully it will be photoed soon.

Knit my own Beekeeper Blanket

For those not in the know, this one. It will be a gradual project, and one I hope to do by my birthday this year.

Design a Pattern

I have a lot of ideas. I might even try to design more, but my goal is one- with the thought that if I do that, more will just flow out of my head.

Write Every Day

Be it a poem or an essay or anything else, but I need to put pen to paper somehow every day that I can. Meanwhile, I have also been setting specific writing goals for myself about my longer projects, more of that to come.

Write/Record 6 Songs This Year

I have a lot of ideas for music and want to spend more time on that. Choir isn’t enough anymore, I guess, although I’m trying to say that without egoism.

Submit to 1 Contest or Lit. Journal a Week

Again with the very specific goals. This is something I can honestly ask myself: Did I do it? And if not, I know that I have to.

Finish a Novel (written, not published)

I am planning to use something called the ‘Snowflake Method” to start making a serious dent in organizing my ideas for at least one of my stories. We’ll see how far I get. And of course there’s NaNoWriMo, and I think 3rd time will be a charm.

Blog 100 Times This Year

That’s only a little less than twice a week, and again- if I do that, I might end up doing even more.


Run 200 Times this Year

Already 2 down, 198 to go.

Run a Marathon & Half Marathon

If I accomplish the above, this will be pretty easy.

Begin Learning Arabic, Italian, Hebrew, Greek (Work on each once/ week)

I might not accomplish all of this, but I’m working on it, or beginning to.

Improve German (work on once a week)

Again, starting on it, as well as my Norwegian.

Maintain Wardrobe- Monthly Check-in, Update

Once a month, I need to ask myself what I wear, what I don’t, what I need. I also need to extend this to my knitting- what should I knit, as well as what do I want to knit.

Meet The Maccabeats or Lee Pace

Hey, keeping my options open.

 

 

 

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward, Not Back”

  1. I’m in a similar place, but I haven’t been brave enough to really put my goals out there yet! I just read over several of your posts and I think you have a good thing going with your blog. I’ll definitely be checking back to see how you’re doing with your goals.

Leave a Reply

