Legitimate Mysteries.

Okay, so I try not to make my blog too political because that’s not my goal here, and I don’t want to spend too much time out of my day writing about Missouri politicians who clearly never passed even middle school biology, or health class, or any other form of education about how pregnancy works for any sort of mammal.

But I do feel the need to comment on what I have found most upsetting about one man’s comments the other day. While one part of his discussion has been all over pretty much every news outlet from here to Alpha Centauri, the second part of his comments have been the most upsetting to me.

Just after stating that he thinks women’s reproductive systems work in a similar way to the Department of Mysteries (but then, for him, they probably ARE departments of mystery), requiring some sort of spell or incantation in order to initiate pregnancy, he added the following.

“But let’s assume that maybe that didn’t work, or something, you know, I think there should be some punishment but the punishment ought to be on the rapist.”

In other words, when Voldemort tries to get into your uterus and succeeds, or something, and your womb doesn’t cast Expelliarmus! on impact, he should be punished. Some punishment. Man, the Ministry of Magic would love this guy.

Seriously though, how charitable- suggesting that a rapist committed a crime and should be punished. Does he really  think that such a statement is groundbreaking? In further context, he added that the punishment should not be by “attacking the child”-which I guess is how he equates aborting a fetus, even an unwanted and uninvited Voldemort baby. (I’m sorry, I’ll stop with the Voldemort references…it’s insulting. To Death Eaters.)
Anyway, I just can’t understand how some people still think the “legitimate” rape ideas he’s spewing (ha! SPEW! That one wasn’t even on purpose.), and the idea of a woman being able to “shut down” unwanted pregnancy, might hold a nugget (or a Knut) of truth. It’s not how we or any other mammals work, as far as I know. And the way in which he talks about punishment suggests to me that even in the case of “legitimate” rape, he’s still not entirely sure that it’s a crime…and if you haven’t seen the actual video clip, watch it.

Todd Akin on Rape and Abortion, The Jaco Report, 8/19/2012

…and then go ahead and tell me just how inappropriate my literary puns today are…

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

