Resolutely.

That is how I hope to go into this year. Resolutely, with goals and aspirations and most importantly a work ethic. I used to have one, so I know they exist.

Anyway, I did set some goals last year and I know I met some of them (read 52 books, meet the Maccabeats, run a half marathon) and didn’t meet others (knit 12 sweaters, finish a book, run a full marathon), and this year I’m tweaking a few and adding one big one that I’ll talk about tomorrow. In the meantime, my general

Goals for 2013

Run another half marathon

Run a full marathon

Knit, start to finish, 12 Sweaters/vests/skirts this year

Finish the other 2-4 sweaters on my needles

Learn more Hebrew, Italian, and Yiddish

Finish a novel and either self-publish it or start sending it to publishers

Start auditioning and acting again

Move somewhere I’ve always wanted to live, like the east or west coast

Pay down the rest of my credit debt

Pay off my smallest student loan

I’ve decided this year not to set “blog this many times” or “run this many times” goals, because I forgot about them easily. I’m also starting small with my financial goals but might add more later on in the year, if I finish these; same with the writing ones. I also cut down my languages I want to learn a bit to the ones I actually did start working on in 2012. I also don’t know if I’ll blog any of the books I read this year, but I’ll try to keep a list on Goodreads, something I didn’t do last year.

Really though, my goals for 2013 could be summed up in one thing: Not need a day job. Is this realistic? I don’t know. What I do know is that for the last 4 months I was working part-time as a server at a local restaurant. Not a hard job. Paid pretty well for the time. And I still hated it. Not so much for the job as the fact that I had it, that I had to be on someone else’s schedule again and the amount of work I did, and the money I made, was really just up to everyone else. So if I can avoid that in any way by the end of 2013- through freelance, acting, writing, whatever- and be able to live mostly on my own schedule, I will try to do it.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

