Consumed.

Something that has been, in my spare hours, consuming my mind for weeks:

Serial. as in the podcast, serialpodcast.org.
In case you actually haven’t heard about it yet- Serial is the work of Sarah Koenig, a longtime contributor on This American Life, which has been my favorite public radio program for years. In Serial, she attempts to tell the same story over the course of several weeks, reminiscent of old radio programs. Except that hers has a catch: It’s not fictional. Her story in this first season centers on the 1999 murder of Hae Min Lee, for which her ex-boyfriend Adnan Syed was convicted. She’s interviewed whoever she can, gotten professionals to take a look at the case again, spent months in contact with Adnan. It’s crazy and fascinating and I just finished the latest episode. And I’m pretty sure it is going to give me nightmares.

I may write more about it at a later date, but for now I don’t want to think about it anymore, or I’ll never get to sleep.

Listen to Serial here. Although I would recommend waiting until daylight.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

