More Serial Musings

I’m sure I am just one of a million or more people who has written or at least talking about Serial on the Internet. I don’t know if Sarah Koenig, it’s creator, had any idea what she was about to create. But like so many listeners, I am finding myself obsessed. I think about it during the day when I have a few minutes without work, I read other people’s blog posts and essays and conspiracy theories, I was overjoyed when I found out one of my coworkers was also listening to it, and bombarded him with my opinions. My roommate and I heard most of the first episode when it originally aired during This American Life, and at least once every 36 hours since I picked it back up about a week and a half later, I tell her she needs to start listening. It’s the crime of the century and the drama of the decade all in one for me, somehow. Like the ultimate teen drama. Because that’s sort of what it is. A teen drama, a teen tragedy, that really happened.
And it probably goes without saying to add that my biggest fascination is with Adnan Syed- and not really him, but his role. It seems to me, in the parts when I am convinced of his innocence, that he was only ever considered because he had dated the victim. Have you ever thought about who, in your past, you might be accused of hurting if anything ever happened to them? I wonder this a lot when I read mysteries or watch dramatic or suspenseful TV shows. In those the culprit is almost always related to the victim, or otherwise connected to them. And from what I know of the statistics, that’s not too far off. A lot of violent crimes are not completely random, they’re done to people that the attacker knew.
So if your best friend went missing, would you be accused? Or if an ex did? And what would you do? I suppose you could maintain your innocence, as Adnan has done. A lawyer from The Innocence Project suggested two weeks ago that doing so might actually prove your innocence, in some people’s mind. As she said it (and I’m paraphrasing)- Some people say, I didn’t do all of this. I did some of it, but not all…but that isn’t what he’s saying.” And if that happened to you, would people believe you? What evidence would you have? Would you know where you were? Would anyone else?
This feels like a weird thing to admit, although it’s probably a growing reality in our time- while I generally trust the police, I am terrified of being arrested. Just the word “arrested” make me feel kind of sick. The one time in high school that I was warned for speeding was scary enough. I can’t imagine actually being taken in for questioning, let alone being charged with a crime and having to defend myself. How could I prove where I was? I never go out. I’m not sure how convincing the alibi “I sat on the couch with the dogs, they know it, they were both there” would be in an actual court room.
I also wonder sometimes what prison must be like. I feel like one of the main things I read or hear is that it’s boring. I feel like that is sounds like a pretty bad punishment to me. Like being in detention for the rest of your life. Ist thinking about it makes me tired.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

