Mittens

image

I’ve never actually knitted myself a full pair of mittens before. I’ve made fingerless ones and I’ve made my roommate mittens, but I’ve never made myself mittens. Today, then, I decided to change that.

My hands were cold.

Also, I went to Joann Fabrics to try to get more yarn for my bulky sweater, and of course, they didn’t have the right shade. I started it out of Wheat, which is almost exactly the same as Oatmeal, but different enough… Also, as any knitter knows, you can’t just switch up. even if no one else noticed, I would know, and that would drive me crazy.

This pattern is called Cruiser, and I chose it because it was free and made for size 6 needles and worsted weight, and that was what I had. I’m using some of the Rowan pure wool for my sweater, a contrast color that I wouldn’t need the whole skein of anyway. I’m pretty sure this one is “really red”. Which it is, so it fits… And I feel good about getting them done this weekend, so I can wear them starting next week.

While it was of course Black Friday, I spent very little of it shopping. Instead I knitted, cleaned the bathroom, did a load of laundry, ran to the grocery store for soda and orange juice, knitted some more, and took the dogs out about five times. And, of course, went to yoga this morning. My downward dogs were pretty good today, my tree pose was solid, my twists sucked. But there’s always tomorrow. As some of the teachers I’ve had so far have been so good at reminding us, it’s called a practice. You don’t have to be great at everything every day. Honestly that kind of attitude is one of the things about it that I find the most refreshing. It doesn’t matter if I feel cranky or fat or tired, I showed up and I tried. It’s the opposite of a competitive sport.

Speaking of yoga, though, I did order some yoga pants online from athleta today. There was a sale, and I need some bottoms specifically for yoga since I’m trying to get going as much as possible. Here’s hoping they fit me when they get here.

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

