A Christmas, of sorts

Christmas isn’t a very important holiday to me these days. As far as gift giving goes, I would much prefer to by the things I need when I need them, and I’m on the side of “we don’t need all of this anyway!”, so not getting a lot of gifts from friends and family isn’t a problem for me. Some of my family have sent me cards or even gift cards, which is wonderful, and my parents sent me cookies and dog treats, which was really cute and thoughtful, but that’s all I really need. And I’m not very close to any family, so I don’t have anyone to go see- I’m hoping to spend some time with some friends in January, but for now everyone is pretty busy.
I’m instead very excited to spend the next few days getting things done. Today I did yoga, went ice skating, and cleaned- all good things for me. I plan on spending the next few days doing more if that, especially cleaning, organizing, setting aside things to sell or give away, sending out resumes and job applications, going to as much yoga as I have time for, making lists and plans for the new year, and just really getting ready for a great and productive 2015. In other words, trying to take this holiday season, which so many of us allow to stress us out and make us broke, and turning it into my kind of holiday, the one where I actually do my chores and then have time to walk my dog.
On that note, I just had a birthday, so I’m really trying to get past the “this is not where I thought I would be” and instead get more done. Maybe I’m finally old enough to take things seriously, but not too seriously, if that makes sense.

My very fancy Christmas Eve dinner- sushi Wednesday is best Wednesday.
My very fancy Christmas Eve dinner- sushi Wednesday is best Wednesday.

 

Author: elizabethlorraine

Writer, actress, runner, knitter, and geek.

Leave a Reply

